A Birth Story

Knock knock!! called out a faint voice from within. It said,  “Mama, I am getting stuffy in here. Get me out and I promise to change your life forever”

It was a sunny Monday morning at the birth centre when my little baby got restless and cried out those exact words in my crazy head 😉 And blindly trusting our telepathy, I got myself prepared to bring it out into my beautiful world. After hours and hours of yogic breathing exercises, I finally  reached the 10cm  dilation point which is like the entry permit to the actual labor ward.

Yes! The moment arrived and as I was being shifted, we all rode an emotional roller-coaster to the labor ward. So nervous, so anxious, so tensed, yet so confident and excited. My husband Vikram, was such a bundle of nerves that he couldn’t even set the camera. Still, everyone filled in their places perfectly – Vikram by my side, an awesome doctor helping me bring a new life on earth, an anxious crowd waiting outside the room.  The intense pain, the tears, the encouraging voices-“Push, u r doing great! Breathe!  Now! Now! Harder! One final push!”. Pop came my little angel into this world. I finally did it:) Tears rolled down my eyes. My baby was out safe!

labor1

The new life was  placed immediately on my belly and our lifeline for so many months, ie the umbilical cord was cut. The nurse rushed our baby for a cleaning, while the doctor worked on my stitches. Vikram looked on, wanting to be in both places at the same time.  Doc said “Go to your baby” ,and he ran behind the nurse to be with his lovechild. As he stared on, the nurse gave the baby its first shot of injection. So overwhelmed we were, that we had forgotten one important thing till then. Suddenly a realization, “Girl or a boy?”, exclaimed my husband. The doctor laughed and shouted “IT’S A GIRL”

He rushed back to me with her, kissed me n said “Hennu magu chinnu!” (we have a baby girl). What a moment! Those innocent blinking eyes ! MAGICAL!! I instantly fell in love with her.

tiababy

Did I just give life? It was so hard to believe that it was for real. I held her in my arm, all tears and smiles. With pride I felt “she is mine, so beautiful, adorable, soothing, and perfect”. She reminded me that something divine, may be god, must exist for such miracles and mysteries to occur. Thank u god for bringing this lovely little life into my world.

birth2

My little princess Tiana

Just outside the labor  room was my family waiting  to see the seed  of a new generation. As I am the eldest amongst my cousins, you can imagine all the hoopla around the first baby’s birth.  Literally every member of our big lovely family would be promoted. My grandparents became great grandparents, parents became grandparents and so on. Even the little pug who was the youngest in the family till now had a niece 🙂 And guess who shared the birthday!! It was my elder bro who turned 25 the same day which called for a double celebration. So it was 3 special cakes – One for bro’s 25th, one for the 1st time parents  and a 0 candle cake for the real BIRTHday girl Tiana

_DSC4527_new

The Birthday Duo

I saw the joy filled room n sighed, what a brilliant decision it was to come back to India for my delivery. After all how many of us would have the privilege of having great grandparents by the side of our birth. I am so glad that we got back to our nest to weave such beautiful memories. May you cherish it forever Tia 🙂

_DSC4517_new

One Happy Family

_DSC4491new

The celebration

_DSC4685_newest

So tiny… so sweet…

_DSC4499newest

The great grandparents cutting the cake on our behalf

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to A Birth Story

  1. Tanuja says:

    Wonderful experience. . So well told.. its really a miracle. Thanks for putting it in words Divya..

    Like

  2. Mytes says:

    Just felt like we spoke to each other about this now and I’m not reading it alone… Those words about your labor has so much emotions to it, a emotion of a mother! And surrounded by the whole family and celebrating this new life, I must only say onething, “Tiana is really blessed”. Write more. Keep smiling as always. Love.

    Like

  3. Swetha says:

    Beautiful feelings and very nicely pen down by you dear… Be blessed and wishing you many wonderful joyful days with Tiana

    Like

  4. Maniharish says:

    Good start , munna … Back too sweet n happy memories .:) .. OMG I still remember those days , how v were waiting to welcome the sweet little angle Tia …. Looking forward for more memories 🙂 love u

    Like

  5. Mouli says:

    You guys know how to capture every precious moment of your life. 🙂

    Like

  6. Pallavi Arun says:

    Hey Divya, just read your post and was totally overwhelmed. Very nicely portrayed. I could really feel your joy of being a “MOM”. Looking forward for more updates, keep them coming 🙂

    Like

  7. Divya Yashwanth says:

    Wow Divya ..gr8 writing, am very touched 🙂

    Like

Leave a comment